Tags

, , , , ,

Bonjour Frock Stars.  It’s easy to bake like a master with little or no experience.  Today, for my second installment of Thanksgiving themed recipes, I made pumpkin pies.  Pumpkin pie is a Thanksgiving must have, and all you need to do to make it unique is add a little pizzazz.

Oh yes sir…. I went there again…. minis.  I was asked this week why I always make everything mini, and the answer is really quite simple.  When you bake a regular sized pie, it looks great when it comes out of the ovie….. when a few people decide to eat a slice, it doesn’t look so hot sitting on display.  Minis always look good.  They always have a completed look, they are easy to put on your plate, and they make people happy…. no matter how many hungry hippos decide to eat one.  Let’s gets ta frockin.

What You Will Need:

  • Ready made mini pie crusts.  I like to use Keebler’s mini graham crusts.
  • 1 pack of cream cheese, I like to use the boxes because I think they soften quicker (I’m a little cray, so this is prob just in my head….).  8 oz’s should do the trick, make sure it’s room temp.
  • 1 can of pumpkin.
  • 1/2 cup of sugar.
  • 1 teaspoon of vanilla.
  • 1 teaspoon of pumpkin pie spice.
  • 2 eggs (you also need egg whites to moisten your crusts, I usually keep a carton handy, if you don’t have a carton, 1 or 2 additional eggs should be enough).
  • 1 handful of dark chocolate chips (this is optional, but it’s the pizzazz that I chose to add).

Wake And Bake:

1.  Preheat ovie to 350 degrees.

2.  Put all ingredients into a bowl, cream cheese, sugar, pumpkin, 2 eggs, vanil, and pp spice.  Mix it all up until smooth.  I decided to add a dash of cinnamon (last minute decision), and blended some more.  Set aside for a few.

3.  Lightly coat each pie crust with egg whites.  This gives them a nice freshy freshy, and you may be able to pass it off as homemade.

4.  Fill each crust with the pie mixture.  They are so cute, I get excited when they’re all filled.

5.  If you elect not to add the pizzazz, then bake for about 40 minutes… but check on them at about 20.  You will know they are finished when you can insert a toothpick or knife, and it comes out with nothing on it.

 

And All That Pizzazz:

1.  Put your handful of choc chips in a microwave safe dish, and microwave for 20 seconds.  Remove and stir, if they are not melted repeat until they are.

2.  Add a dollop of melted beautifulness on top of each pie.

3.  Take a toothpick and swirl the chocolate around to create a unique design.  No matter what you do, it will look cool.

4.  Bake for approx 40 mins, but check on them at 20… as stated in #5, you will know they are finished when you can insert a toothpick or knife, and it comes out clean.

You now have an extremely chic dessert, that any host is sure to be thrilled about.  Everyone is going to eat the frock out of these pies.  I have one more Thanksgiving recipe to do, what do you little frockers want to see?  A main course?  An app?  A side dish?  A Frocktail?  Let me know!

Frock Out*

– S

