Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Sometimes DIY’s can be a hot ass mess.  You see something that looks easy enough to attempt… but when you do, it’s an epic fail.  I normally werq with clothes and accessories, but this week I wanted to serve up summertime simplicity. If you don’t sew, don’t own a glue gun, are on a budget, love beauty products, live for organic shizz, need a gorge party favor, or are ashy as hell… don’t worry, I got you boo.

DIY Body Scrub

Exfoliating is seriously one of my favorite things ever.  Who doesn’t love smooth skin (especially paired with clean sheets).  I love a good Body Shop scrub, but I hate paying $15 for one… I’m a severe product abuser, I go through like one bottle of lotion and conditioner per week.  Anyway, you probably have everything you need to make this scrub chillin in your kitch.  Let’s gets ta scrubbin.

Start off with 3/4 cup of kosher salt, and 1/2 cup of olive oil.

Easy Body Scrub

Next, gather some fresh herbs.  If you don’t have any fresh herbs, you can totes cheat by cracking open a tea bag and using its contents, or using a squeeze of citrus.  Once you select your pairings, dice everything up (if applicable).  A few pairings that I think play nice together are…

  • Rosemary + Mint (which is what I used here)
  • Lavender + Chamomile
  • Sage + Orange Zest
  • Mint + Lemon

Fresh Herbs

Now, all you have to do is mix everything thoroughly in a large bowl.  Make sure you coat every little grain of salt with olive oil.

Summer Body ScrubIf you want to take things a step further, you can package your salt up in small jars.  I think it’s the perfect gift for a summertime event… and if you have a penis, then you can use this scrub as a meat marinade (how delish would rosemary and mint chicken be, with a side of grilled pineapple).  You can get adorable sets of mason jars in the bridal section a Michaels.

Rosemary Mint Body ScrubTop it off with some ribbon to really fancy things up… then add a sprig of something, or a flower, or accessory, or condom, or some sort of makeup.

DIY Gifts

J’adore how smooth the salt makes my skin, and the olive oil is ridiculously moisturizing.  You can still be bitchin in the kitchen, even if the only thing you can cook is easy mac… werq.

Shut The Frock Up*

