Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I don’t want no iny weeny, teeny weeny, shriveled little short dress, man.

Too ShortBut shit can happen, and dresses shrink.  This recently happened to me a few months ago, I ordered an adorable tee dress from Forever 21 and wore it once… then I washed it, and dried it.  After the dryer, this dress no longer fit.  When I reached my hands above my head, my ass would completely hang out… not cute.  I really liked the print and didn’t want to get rid of it, so it just sat in my closet.  There are a million things that you can do with a shrunken dress, you can make a skirt, headband, shirt, tunic, the possibilities are endless.  I chose to make a shirt and a headband, here’s the breakdown.

Fix A Too Short DressI was going to make a skirt from this dress, but I wanted to keep the shoulder detailing intact.  That meant a shirt was the best option.  I measured the length that I wanted my shirt, and cut off the excess fabric using tape as a guide.  I thought about hemming the shirt (which is usually a good thought), but I liked the rugged undone feel of it.  Boom, my shirt was done in 5 minutes… and it looks sickening paired with cut offs.

I still had a strip of fabric, I thought about making a scarf… but it was too thin.  Then I realized, this fabric was perfect for a headband.

DIY Headband

First, I cut the fabric along the side seam so it was one long strip.  Then I used a flat-iron to get all wrinkles out of the fabric.  Once the fabric was flat, I used the flat-iron to create a crease along the top edge of the fabric (that was my uneven edge).  When that was complete, I folded the fabric in half and used a glue gun to seal everything.  This left me with one long, even strip of fabric.

Turban time!

DIY Turban Headband

  1. Hold the center of the fabric at the nape of your neck.  Make sure that all seams are facing out, you want to do the fitting inside out (that way when you sew everything, it will look good on the outside).
  2. Cross the fabric at the center of your forehead.
  3. Cross the fabric again in the other direction, creating something that resembles a knot.
  4. Tuck the loose ends, and gently slip headband off.
  5. Sew the loose ends to the headband.  This tightens everything up, and makes your headband durable.
  6. Flip it inside out and wear.

Sew The Edges

Girl, you’re good to go.  I werq the shizz out of turban headbands all summer long.  They help you serve up Elizabeth Taylor, and make gross hair look fierce.

