Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I was extremely concerned about my Glam Bag melting in the mail last week.  So concerned, that I let it cool off before opening… safety first, people.

July Glam Bag

After my bag chilled out for a few days, I decided to open it.  I have mixed feelings about the bag itself.  I despise transparent bags of any sort, even a makeup bag.  I hate messy things, and I don’t like to look at them.  If a powder breaks and makes a mess in this bag, the whole world can see it… people will think I’m dirty and gross.  Why do I feel this way?  Because that’s what I would think of someone with a makeup-y bag.  Aside from the transparency, the bag is cute.  I like the shape, I like that it’s water-resistant, and I like pink things.  Here’s what I got…

Sexy Hair, Weather Proof Spray

Big Sexy Hair

I don’t exactly know what this spray is, it was never specified.  Is it hairspray, strengthening spray, shine spray, I just don’t know.  I tried some out with a giant topknot, and it seemed to be hairspray.  My hair got a little hard, but not too crunchy.  The packaging was cute, the sample was a nice size, and I didn’t mind it.  I can always use hairspray, especially with tights season on the way… my pugs ruin every single pair of tights I wear, hairspray helps tame the runs.

Pop, Lip Crayon in Coral Crush

Lip Crayon

I love a lip crayon.  They’re sooo easy to apply, and they don’t melt like lipstick.  I’m not sure if this is full-sized, but it’s big.  The packaging was also adorable.  I liked the texture of the crayon, and it’s slight mint scent.  However, this color looked weird on me.  It kind of had a frosty finish, and reminded me of soccer mom lipstick (like something Nancy Grace would wear).  I’d still buy this… in another color.

Coola, Organic Sunscreen

Organic Sunscreen

I got this same exact sunscreen in my Birchbox two months ago.  I didn’t like it then, and I don’t like it now.  I don’t like the smell at all, the lotion is really thin and watery, and I’m over it.  I know it’s all in my head, but I feel like SPF must include a chemical to work… organic sun protection just doesn’t cut it for me.

Nailtini, Nailpolish in Mai Tai

Coral Nail Polish

Nail polish is the best product to get in a monthly subscription.  You can always get multiple uses out of it, and it’s typically from a trustworthy brand.  I really liked this color, I thought it was more of a poppy than a coral though.  I used it right away.  This polish is amazing.  It doesn’t clump, it’s easy to apply, and it dries quickly.

Rita's

My nails look better than my gelati… werq.

BH Cosmetics, California Collection

Sunset Eyeshadows

I totally wanted to spell that like Kalifornia Kollection… I guess I’ve been brainwashed by the Kardashian Kollection.  This sampler is perfection.  The packaging is genius.  It’s about time that someone figured out how to send an eyeshadow sample that closes.  This is like a mini palette.  Back to biz, these colors are everything.  The gold and bronze can work now, and the purple and bronze can be worn throughout fall.  The shadows blend easily, and they’re fairly pigmented too.  I found that they looked best when applied wet, dip a makeup brush in water before applying.  I’ll use this sample up, fo sho.

The Verdict

This was a pretty good bag, I was happy with it.  I would rather spend $10 on this Glam Bag than the following:

  • A cheap bondage skirt from Forever 21.
  • 2 pairs of Old Navy flip-flops.
  • A manicure, but not a pedicure.
  • 1 Sam Adams Summer Ale 6 pack.
  • A 1/2 dozen bagels from Dunkin Donuts… with cream cheese.
  • 9 coffees from McDonald’s.

Ipsy consistently does a sickening job with Glam Bags.  What did you get in your Glam Bag?

Get Your Frock On*

