Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

I feel like I just got my July Birchbox… where has summer gone?

Birchbox

I don’t really care where summer has gone, I want it to go faster because I’m ready for fall.  I was pretty excited for this box because I figured that Birchbox would pick up on the back to school trend… which very rarely goes wrong.  I wish I was going back to school, everything I see looks adorable.  I even saw a locker chandelier at Target, why wasn’t that around when I had a locker?  All lockers need elegant lighting.  Anyway, here’s what I got:

Dr, Jart+, Premium BB Cream: Full Size, $39

BB Cream

This sample was fairly small, but it’s a stellar product  I mostly use drugstore BB creams, and I find that a lot of them have an orange tint.  This one has a very natural tint.  The texture is also perfection.  It’s thick enough to use as a regular foundation, but it’s thin enough to let your skin breathe.  I normally mix BB creams with a little bit of foundation, but I worked this one on its own.  I would def buy this if it wasn’t $40… you can buy an entire new fall look with that from Target…

Fall Drugstore Makeup

The total amount of the fall makeup collection above is $39.80, and I actually use every single one of those products.

It’s A 10, Miracle Leave In Product: Full Size, $19.99

It's A 10

J’adore this product.  The sample size was on the larger side, and it’s such a cute bottle.  I love everything about this product, the way it makes my hair feel, the scent, the texture that it gives me… I just don’t like the price.  I feel so cheap today.  I spend enough cash money on hair color alone, so I try to keep my hair products as inexpensive ans I can.  I will absolutely use this up and love every second of it, but I’ll replenish it with a standard Garnier leave in conditioner (or something similar).

Jasmine Seven, Fresh Feet Wipes: Full Size $25.95

Wipes

I think these are genius.  This time of year I’m ready to transition into booties and pointy toe pumps, but it’s still hot outside.  Your feet are going to sweat, and it’s not like you can wear socks with heels.  Thus creating the rain boot effect.  That’s what I call it when you have shweddy feet and no socks.  It’s a terrible feeling.  These wipes are the answer to all of my summer-to-fall shoe problems.

ModelCo, Party Proof Lipstick In Kitty: Full Size $24

Lipstick

I love the way this lipstick looks on the outside, the packaging is chic.  I think it’s full size, but if not it’s a big ass sample.  Looking at the lipstick color alone, I didn’t think I would like it.  When I put the lipstick on, it was almost the exact same color as my lips.  I ended up liking the way it looked, it exaggerated my natural lip color making it a perfect every day lipstick.  However, I hated the way this lipstick smelled.  I don’t know why, but it reminds me of little kid makeup.  When I shut my eyes and take a whiff, I’m backstage at a dance competition, painting my face from my caboodle.  Because of that, I will either not be able to wear this… or grow to love it, it’s too early to tell.

TanTowel, Classic Formula Self Tan Towelettes: Full Size $24

Self Tanner

This was my Birchbox extra, and it scares me.  There’s just something about applying self tanner with a small towelette that leaves me unsettled.  I’m nervous that I’ll be all streaky and orange.  Plus, I don’t think this whole towel would cover my body.  If I only used it on my face, I would look like I can’t apply makeup.  I’m not going to use this.  I don’t think I’d be as scared if I was tan, but I’m seriously like the color of a ghost.

The Verdict

Overall, I was surprisingly pleased with this box.  I was happy with almost every product.  I would rather spend $10 on this Birchbox than the following:

  • A large coffee, and a half-dozen bagels from Panera.
  • A large tomato and green pepper pizza from Pizza Hut.
  • 3 bottles of RIT dye.
  • A bottle of Naked organic riesling.
  • 3 new glue guns.
  • 1 Playboy magazine.

I have high expectations for the upcoming fall boxes, I hope they don’t disappoint.

Does anyone want to see a drugstore haul/ fall hair + makeup tutorial?  If you do, leave a comment to let me know.

Frock You*

