Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

I freaking love peas.  I also happen to love toast, it’s my fave food ever.  For a nice healthy snack I like to combine the two together!  Here’s how to make my fave pea topping.

Pea Toast

Start off with 2/3 – 1 cup of peas, they can be fresh or frozen.  Steam the peas, and add to a blender, smoothie maker, or food processor.

Healthy Snack

Add 1/4 cup of olive oil (or enough so the peas are barely covered), a few sprinkles of sea salt, a bit of fresh pepper, a sprig of mint (for this little batch I used 4 leaves), and a tablespoon (or more) of feta.  Blend until smooth and serve.

Bad news bears… I forgot that I had broken my smoothie maker, which means I have no pics of the finished product.  I was really bummed about this, because I wanted to get my snack on (and I have to buy a new smoothie maker).  Anyway, the pea topping should have a similar consistency to hummus.  I love using it to top off toast, crackers, even tomatoes.  It also looks really pretty, which makes it ideal for parties.  You can make a large batch of the pea topping and serve with toasted pita… delish.

Sorry for the lack of pics, here’s a totally irrelevant one as an apology.

Pugs

TGIF 

