Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

The Fourth of July is like my fave holiday ever.

Patriotic Crop TopYou get to be outside all day, eat grilled snacks, and rock the cutest red, white, and blue shizz that you can find.  Now I love me some Old Navy, but everybody stays sporting their cheap Fourth of July shirts… and I like to stand out.  Here’s how to make a one of a kind patriotic crop top.

Mens Shirt Makeover

Start off with an old red, white, or blue shirt.  I went with a large mens button up, but you can use oversized tees too.  The larger the shirt, the harder it’s going to be to work with.

DIY Crop TopCut off the sleeves and bottom of the shirt.  You don’t necessarily have to go super cropped, but I’m into it.  I love the way crop tops look with full midi skirts or high-waisted shorts.

Crop Top DIYMy shirt was super big, so I had to totally resize it.  I cut along the seam leading to the arm hole on both sides.

Pin and SewThen I pinned everything back into place, and sewed it.  I don’t love sewing, I usually go with fabric glue… but I wanted to be able to adjust if my measurements were off.

Fourth of July DIY

You can leave the shirt as is, or add some embellishments.

Fouth of July Crop Top I happened to have some red lace that matched this shirt, so I secured it along the bottom with a glue gun.

Fourth of July Shirt

I ended up getting rid of the collar, I didn’t want to feel constricted on a hot day.  I’m loving this shirt, it’s American perfection hunty.

Brought to you courtesy of the red, white, and blue 

